State of the Zoo

Over the past week I have been hearing some negative and completely true things about the performance of the Zoo. The past two games, Providence and Louisville, the noise level and enthusiasm hasn’t been there. Whenever the team hits a rough patch the atmosphere in the Pete is terrible. Chants on the defensive end last for a few seconds and then turn into unenthusiastic clapping. The Providence game had a bunch of great basketball but we never seemed to get into the game. We got crushed by Louisville but even before the tip-off the Zoo wasn’t into it. When our team comes out everybody should be standing, clapping, and making noise. Scream at the other team during shoot around, get in their heads before the game starts.

Its seems like the past couple articles that I have written I’ve had to make up an excuse as to why the atmosphere was bad. Usually its something to do with the start time or that the team’s play was flat. We shouldn’t let it be like this, the Zoo should be on every single second of every game.

Its kind of a Pitt basketball tradition to pick a scapegoat whenever the team loses. I’m no different I’ve made many mentions in my articles about players who I think could perform better. Well I’m going to point the finger firmly at us now. We aren’t performing like the great student section we are advertised as. I looked down my nose at the WVU student section when “Lets Go Pitt” was audible on TV from the 55 of us that went to Morgantown. Well they are coming here for Senior Night and are they going to be able to look down their noses at us if the three ball starts falling for WVU.

The solution is simple all everybody has to do is show up (FILL THE WHOLE ZOO!!!) on Saturday and for 3 or so hours make as much noise as you can. We pay 5 dollars to see a top ten college basketball team that leads a major conference. I can’t think of a better way to get over a Friday night hangover then by screaming my lungs out watching a basketball game on Saturday. We are better than this and lets prove it on Saturday.

16 Responses to “State of the Zoo”

  1. Derek Says:

    Well put. Maybe some of the blame should go on some of us leaders, but regardless, we need to step it up, and that starts with putting 1300 butts in seats on Saturday and bringing home a W against a bubble team.

  2. Jason Cramer Says:

    I put blame on myself. We all need to step up. At times we take this team and the zoo for granted.

  3. Derek Says:

    Jason… you don’t need to respond to my comments… for god’s sake, you’re our commish

  4. Jason Cramer Says:

    Derek I’m trying to keep some professionalism here. What would tbc say if the commish didn’t respond to a respected owner like you?

  5. ~ The Oakland Zoo ~ Says:

    Hey now, no inside jokes, this is a public forum.

  6. Derek Says:

    I agree… and for the record, I could have hid behind our zoo login too, i owned up to it and used my name, but i promise i’m done… after i agree that TBC wouldn’t have been pleased.

  7. Verle Says:

    well said. I’m glad this got started

  8. Jason Cramer Says:

    This stuff needed to be said I hope we can get some discussion going.

  9. Anonymous Says:

    im glad we found a way to bring TBC into the discussion…that being said ya i promise i won’t shut up saturday to the point of ticking people off…its time the zoo act like the student section we say we are

  10. ~ The Oakland Zoo ~ Says:

    I’ll be digging dirt up on the Washington players so if you need something to yell at them about come see your big bald buddy in 6I

  11. Anonymous Says:

    research The Princess Bride…it’s Jon Brockman’s favorite movie (starts for UW)…and Ryan Appleby has a strange obsession with Pistol Pete

  12. Anonymous Says:

    As a season ticket holder and a graduated Pitt student I ask this, where have all the ZOOHEADS gone? I need to see you and hear you tomorrow. This is a big game so to speak. so everyone who has a ticket should be there and if you can’t watch it on t.v.

  13. Anonymous Says:

    This is another season ticket holder & Pitt grad. I thought all of the fans vs L’ville were too quiet. Too many front running fans who think that Pitt is entitled to win all of their games and then openly criticize when they don’t. I guess you have that right but at least get behind your team while you are there. Whine later. And show up earlier than moments before tip-off or give your tix to someone who will . . .

  14. Keith McBride Says:

    “And show up earlier than moments before tip-off or give your tix to someone who will . . . “While I wholeheartedly agree with your sentiment, the Zoo only had half of its 1400 capacity there at the last game. People keep complaining about the Zoo, but really, most of the people just don’t care.You’d think most schools would KILL to have a top 10 team to entertain them every week. Ours just seems to take it for granted.But that’s just my humble opinion.

  15. Anonymous Says:

    I think a big problem with the zoo is that most people don’t even realize that there is a problem. I’m sure a decent amount of us do look at this website a lot, and do see the complaints about the zoo & want to make our student section better– although, I think a large majority of the student section don’t take the time to look at the Zoo Blog, or may not even know about it.Is there anyway we can publicize this website more? Pass out something at the game, perhaps? At least then, maybe more students would look at it and realize that yeah, we have a problem.I know we only have one home game left, but it is against WVU. I remember how crappy I thought their student section was… it was horrible. The fact that 55 or so of us were over-heard over their whole section.. that’s pathetic.. I don’t want to be compared to them in the least bit when they come up to Pitt.

  16. Jason Cramer Says:

    At our worst we can produce more noise then them


Leave a Reply

