Weekend Thoughts

I’m finally back at home from the 3 games in 3 days at the Petersen Events Center and while I love watching basketball my body only has so much energy. I’m so tired but I thought I would give some thoughts about the way we played this weekend.

Sam Young really came to play this weekend, he won the tournament’s MVP award and completely deserved it. The team plays at a much faster pace and having Young at power forward creates havoc for opposing defenses on the break. He is always a threat to throw down a huge dunk, which sets the place on fire. I’m really impressed with his ability to get away from his defender and get an open shot. I think this is the start of a great season for Sam.

DeJuan Blair is everything he was billed as and more. He has such a physical presence on the floor despite only being 6’7. Its crazy to see a center in a Pitt jersey that can run the floor and throw the ball down. Not to take a shot at Aaron Gray but with Blair at center we can play so many different ways. I can’t wait to see what happens when he refines his defense. I’m so excited about the way he played this weekend.

Brad Wanamaker is going to be a great asset to this team down the road. Having a 6’4 point guard that can handle the ball and run the offense gives us a weapon that teams won’t be able to deal with. Plus he is a really good defensive player. All around Wanamaker is going to be big for this team this year.

Overall I thought the team played well enough in all three games. The three games in three days scenario almost always leads to a flat performance on the final day. Against St. Louis I thought we looked tired but we just had too much talent for them to deal with. I’m very glad that St. Louis didn’t roll over and gave us a game. I hope every team that we play early can make it tough for us. This is going to be a another great year just from the little bit of the team I’ve seen.

Leave a Reply

