A Moral Victory for the Zoo

Yesterday’s game was heart-wrenching.  The guys played well for the most part and it seemed like we were going to squeak out a victory, but that didn’t happen.  It was an emotionally tough loss.  My sadness even prevented me from writing my English paper. (Would that excuse work to get an extension?)

Anyway, despite a tally in the loss column, there are a bunch of things that we as fans can be proud of.  First of all, the majority of the Zoo stayed, which is always great.  I know that we did not sell out, but the fans that did come were loud and dedicated.  Also, for the first time since I’ve been at Pitt (which is not that long) the zoo did not speed up the P-I-T-T cheer, so kudos on that.  Finally, I want to applaud the Zoo for helping to get the rest of the Pete on its feet.  At certain points during the game, the place was rocking, the entire arena was joining in on cheers.  I don’t remember specific instances because I was too busy losing my voice (not bragging, just pointing it out), but I feel like the Pete regained its status as one of the toughest places to play yesterday.
Although we did improve a great deal, I don’t want to go too far up the Zoo’s proverbial backside.  I’m disappointed in the turn out.  A noon game on a Sunday should always be sold out.  I understand people are hungover and many have work to do, but it’s not hard to set aside two hours on a Sunday morning.  I got back to my room around 2 PM, which left a ton of time for me to recover from a hangover and to get some serious work out of the way. (I didn’t have a hangover, partly because I didn’t go out and partly because the liquids in my refrigerator were too darn cold to drink – I know I’m really lame and I don’t mind it.)  Another thing I was upset about was that at various points the Zoo was silent.  For whatever reason, we just stopped cheering.  I did this as well, I get tired.  This is something we need to work on.  So, for the Cincy game, walk up the hill instead of riding the shuttle, get the grilled chicken instead of the fried variety, do some vocal exercises, and take an extra puff out of your inhaler (albuterol is my personal choice).
On the recruiting front, it seemed like the number of  football recruits at the game could field their own team.  I thought the Zoo did a great job serving as a welcoming committee.  I spent the majority of my voice offering recruits and their parents a place to party if they decided to choose Pitt over their other schools.  Incidentally, kudos to my boy Griffin for spotting Jeff Hafley, our new secondary coach.  Griffin, you spend way too much time reading about our team.  If your grades start to slip, that could be a reason.
P.S. Thanks for playing more defense Sam Young – but we both know you can do more.
P.P.S Don’t cut the line for the Zoo.  It’s lame and annoying and people get mad.  We don’t need anything to spark divisions within the Zoo, but if you’re going to be a jerk, I’m going to call you out.  This is such a third-grade issue, but it’s really annoying.  If you do this, just stop.
Notice of Lost Items:  Ronald Ramon’s shot at any point in the game besides the last minute.  Ronald, I’ll gladly start a search party to help you out.  When you do find it, Ron, we’re doing Jaeger bombs.
Hail to Pitt and start prepping for the Cincy game.
6 Responses to “A Moral Victory for the Zoo”

  1. Jay Mills Says:

    I agree, like you said, a moral victory. We were loud for only being about 2/3 full.I was supposed to go with a few people but couldn’t wake any of them up Sun morning. Noon tips are ridiculous. The new football schedule where no games start before 3 or something is great, because tailgating at 10 am is a bit much for me.The non-Zoo crowd WAS loud, I was kind of surprised at how active they were during certain points. Although at the end of the game people were a bit stubborn about standing up.

  2. yinzer Says:

    I pay damn good money for my seat and you damn kids need to shut the hell up so I can enjoy the game. And how dare you tell me to stand up. I’m a man, I don’t have to stand.

  3. Brian Ising Says:

    Sam Young had probably his finest game as Panther yesterday. Can he do more? Sure, but so can a lot of other players.Yes, Ramon’s shot has been very inconsistent this year. But, he was 3-6 yesterday from 3, including 2 huge 3’s in the 2nd half. We lost because Fields, Benji, and Brown were a combined 0-10 on 3’s.I apologize for the criticism, but I think its a little funny that the 2 players you mention were probably our 2 best players yesterday.

  4. max greenwald Says:

    Brain, I have my opinions and you have yours. In any event, I wrote primarily about the zoo and not the players, but you didn’t comment on that. I’m interested to know what you think about everything else I had to say.

  5. Brian Ising Says:

    I agreed with everything you said about the Zoo, which is why I didn’t comment on that stuff.The attendance was disappointing for a big name against a very good team. However, those that were there did a great job. The atmosphere in the Pete yesterday was probably the best its been all year with the exception of Georgetown. The fact that only about 700 students made that much noise is very impressive.I fear that the last two games, especially DePaul, will not have good performances by the Zoo. That is a shame because our team really needs us now. And the seniors deserve a great send-off.Those of us that are at those games need to do an even better job firing up the crowd to create a great atmosphere and help our team get a couple much-needed wins.


Leave a Reply

