I went to New York and all I got was this lousy Big East championship

I, without a doubt, had the best spring break.  I had friends who went to Mexico and I had friends who went to Florida and I’m sure they will say they had a great time.  Maybe it’s because I hate sand, but being in New York for those four days was amazing.  All I did was watch basketball and walk back and forth from the Garden to the bar that Pitt fans commandeer on an annual basis.  That defined my perfect spring break.

Our team played great, Jamie coached his tail off, and our fans were unstoppable.  The traveling Zoo got shout outs on multiple occasions as the loudest group of fans at any game and the rest of the Pitt contingent showed up big time as well.  There weren’t many of us, but the ones that were there were loud making it clear to our players that we were there to support them.
That brings me to my one actual point.  Duke, North Carolina, Georgetown, and many other traditional powerhouses have a ton of fans that have no connection to that school other than their interest in the sports teams.  This was never more clear to me at the championship game.  There were a lot of fans rooting for Georgetown that went there or knew someone who did, but there were even more people wearing the grey and blue who would never be able to get into a school like Georgetown.  Pitt fans however are Pitt fans because they went here, they go here, they know someone who is connected to the university, or they live in the Pittsburgh area.  That is why when we lose, our fans really feel the hurt and when we win, the celebration is so sweet.  The band, which was great, came out to the entrance of the Garden and played the fight songs and other tunes after our big wins.  The place was packed with Pitt fans jumping around, dancing, and hugging each other.  It was awesome.
I’ve got nothing more to say right now.  I leave tomorrow for the first round in Denver and I’m pumped for that.
I love Bob Knight on ESPN, not because of the picks he made, but because he just does not care what anyone thinks.  He also makes Digger look like a fool.  Keep rockin’ the sweaters Bobby.
Hail to Pitt
5 Responses to “I went to New York and all I got was this lousy Big East championship”

  1. Drew Margulis Says:

    you’re really going to denver? u lucky POS

  2. max greenwald Says:

    haha, appreciate it drew

  3. Brian Ising Says:

    Great post. It was certainly the perfect spring break for me as well. I’m jealous you’re going to Denver. Enjoy your trip and bring home a couple victories.

  4. gbutt09 Says:

    I don’t know if anyone knows yet, but the athletic department is planning on showing the game at the Pete on Thursday on the jumbotron.The doors will open at 2:30 and I think they are opening sections 120, 121, and 122.

  5. errik32 Says:

    To true members of the Zoo with facebook, Search”Carlo Dorazio Fan Club”and join up. Carlo was the original Fan Fav of the Oakland Zoo it’s first year in existence. ThanksGO PITT


Leave a Reply

