Friars Taken Care Of

Well, finally a bit of a breather at the Pete. Providence did manage to keep it close in the first half, but that was mostly due to some incredibly lucky three-point shooting early on. By the end of the half, it was fairly obvious to see the Panthers step up the defensive pressure, setting the tone for the 8-0 and 13-0 runs in the 2nd half. Providence is really a struggling team, and Tim Walsh is having his job called for as head coach- but really, considering the injuries and suspensions he’s had to deal with, Providence played well-coached basketball. Maybe I’d just like to see Pitt’s continued dominance over the Friars, but this isn’t entirely his fault.

Player of the game today was clearly Sam Young- a fantastic day from the field (10-14) in addition to his 7 rebounds, 2 assists, as well as a block and a steal. He really did a great job on both ends of the court, limiting Providence’s top player, Geoff McDermott, to only 7 points on 3-8 shooting. However, Sam wasn’t the only Pitt player with a solid game- DeJuan, Keith, and Ronny all had double digits, and it was particularly refreshing to see improved shot selection and Ronny’s 5-7 from beyond the arc heading into the Marquette game.

I was a little disappointed that Levance didn’t dress, but I know that he’ll play when he’s ready, so I don’t want to be too selfish for wanting to see him break McDermott’s ankles with a crossover. That’s my negative news for the day, and back to the positive. Really solid contributions again from Gil and Brad, making me incredibly excited for this team’s prognosis heading forward. I don’t want to talk too much about next year yet, but I don’t see this team dropping off at all at the end of this season, and seeing 20 very solid minutes from Bradley really got me excited. He’s been improving so much in this Big East season, and reports of Dixon’s getting on him in practice are a huge factor in that.

7 Responses to “Friars Taken Care Of”

  1. Keith McBride Says:

    Levance’s status for the game on Tuesday was not clear even several hours before the tip. He had practiced the day before, but before the game he chose to sit out. I’m guessing he might have overdone it in practice, or just simply didn’t want to come back and make mistakes.Reports today say that he will be in the game on Friday. I just hope nobody expects 30 minutes out of him. I think he will be in great shape to be able to split the time between Ronald, Keith, and Brad.Brad looked great on Tuesday. Everyone, including me, was really critical of him early on. Recently he is putting it together and finally looks like he wants to take shots. I hope he continues because I think he can be a real asset.

  2. Matthew Says:

    i disagree. player of the game: towelboy…

  3. Anonymous Says:

    check this outhttp://vmedia.rivals.com/uploads/996/604530.wmvhe says he will play friday

  4. Bmac21 Says:

    do you ever write about losses?

  5. vinnie Says:

    Yeah they do. I didnt know you needed an instant write up about the game. I think the best course of action would be for you to be patient about it. Believe it or not, some of these guys actually make trips to go see the team on the road.

  6. Bmac21 Says:

    hey..i’m not complaining, i love the blog and the zoo, but you seem hesitant to write after losses, especially on the road. I do appreciate the effort, it’s a cool perspective to have. i’m glad theres been more coverage since the comment


Leave a comment